MTV World Stage 2011 Artist Lineup



Formed by Jared and Shannon Leto, Thirty Seconds To Mars are currently one of the world's biggest rock bands with over 4 million albums sold.

The band first found success with their self-titled debut album in 2002 and solidified their signature sound. Three years later in 2005, success beckoned with the release of their sophomore album A Beautiful Lie. Achieving platinum status in the US, the album also reached gold status in several countries around the globe, and spawned two Modern Rock hits "The Kill" (which was retired from the Billboard Charts after a record breaking 52 weeks) & "From Yesterday" which was a #1 Hit.

With lead guitarist Tomo Milicevic in tow, the band blazed through countless successful tours, playing more than 500 shows around the world including notable music festivals like Lollapalooza (USA), Summersonic (Japan) & Rock Am Ring (Germany). The band released their highly anticipated third album This Is War in 2009. The album was a huge success producing the #1 hits "Kings And Queens," "This Is War" and the cross-over pop smash "Closer To The Edge."

To date Thirty Seconds To Mars have won 10 MTV awards, including the recent "Best Rock Video" for "Kings & Queens" at the 2010 MTV Video Music Awards and "Best Rock Band" at the 2010 MTV Europe Music Awards.


Like their name, Neon Trees are a combination of slick pop hoops and sturdy organic rock whose sound is themed with adolescent angst, longing, love lost and found, reminiscing the music of the ‘60s garage rock scene all the way to today’s dance rock anthems.

Their Mercury records debut, ‘Habits,’ produced by Tim Pagnotta spurred the band to critical acclaim with their lead single ‘Animal,’ climbing to #13 on the Billboard Hot 100, #1 on the Alternative Chart as well as #2 on the rock chart. The album was certified Platinum in the US and Gold in Australia, & ranked #1 on Heatseekers Billboard Chart. In June 2010, Neon Trees’s exciting performance on Mashup Monday of the pop hit “Baby” and an acoustic cover of “Animal” garnered over 2.9 million video views. The band was also featured on Rolling as Artist of the Week in July 2010 and the global MTV Push platform in January 2011.

Promoting their catalyst of hook-happy new wave and classic rock sound, Neon Trees has toured as the opening act for Thirty Seconds To Mars in the Spring of 2010 during their ‘Into The Wild Tour,’ headlined the Summer 2010 Bang The Gong Tour and performed at Lollapalooza 2010 and Coachella 2011.

Currently embarking on The Surrender Tour, Neon Trees arm themselves with an arsenal of bright crunchy riffs, charismatic lyrics and timeless rock energy reflecting out the band’s signature sound that blazes the future of Neon Trees.


Beast has established themselves as one of the top acts in the K-pop world since their debut in 2009. The popular boy band from South Korea under CUBE Entertainment consists of 6 members: Yoon Du Jun, Jang Hyun Seung, Yong Jun Hyung, Yang Yo Seob, Lee Gi Kwang, Son Dong Woon.

Originally known as B2ST (Boys to Search for Top), the group’s name was changed to BEAST (Boys of East Standing Tall), a couple of days before they debuted. On October 14, 2009, they released their first mini-album ‘Beast Is The B2ST’ on the same day they also held a showcase performance on MTV. Their EP ‘Shock Of The New Era’, was certified Gold in Asia. Their follow-up EPs ‘Mastermind’ and ‘Light Goes on Again’ continued to dominate the charts with hit songs ‘Soom’ & ‘Beautiful’.

Their first solo concert in December 2010 “Welcome to Beast Airline” was sold out and received explosive reactions from media and fans who flew in from the region. With this success, a second concert “Welcome Back to Beast Airline” was held this year. Beast also received the Newcomer Award at the 19th Seoul Music Awards in 2010.

Before their debut, the group was featured in a MTV documentary titled MTVnB2ST, which showcased their journey leading up to their debut.

Beast recently launched their first full album in May 2011, ‘Fiction And Fact’, with hit single “Fiction”, dominating the charts at #1 on M! Countdown, KBS Music Bank and SBS Inkigayo. 2011 also marked the band’s successful launch into Japan, with their first Japanese single “Shock” debuting at #2, the highest ranking single by a non-Japanese artist. As a new band, the group’s popularity has quickly gained recognition and surpassed other boy bands in their unstoppable run to the top.


With their unique blend of funky eclectic beats, hard hitting riffs and adrenaline-fueled live shows, Pop Shuvit - Moots! (vocals), JD (guitar), AJ (bass), Rudy (drums) and Uno (turntables) - is undeniably Malaysia's best hip-hop/rock band.

Formed in 2001, the band has toured extensively across Asia including Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Philippines, Laos, Taiwan, Indonesia and Japan; and has shared the stage with notable artists such as My Chemical Romance, The All-American Rejects, FloRida, Tokio Hotel and more.

A truly multi-lingual and multi-cultural band, Pop Shuvit has five albums under their belts and has released tracks in numerous languages including English, Japanese, Malay, Tagalog, Thai and even Spanish. Their consistent and steady creative output also won them various accolades across the industry, including 10 Malaysian No. 1 radio hits, an MTV Asia Award nomination, a special achievement award (AIM Kembara) in 2008 & Best Music Video "Oh Sizuka!" in 2010 at the Anugerah Industri Muzik (AIM).

The band is currently set to embark on a new chapter of their decade-long career with the release of their much anticipated new album titled Cherry Blossom Love Affair come this June 2011 which includes collaborations from artistes around the world and further strengthens their position as a truly global band.

Leave a Reply

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...